RSS

Three Things I Hate About Coming Home

30 Sep

1. The heat

As we know, Surabaya is a city with high temperature. I had lived in Surabaya for 22 years in hot atmosphere, literally. I’m the one who has sensitive skin type feel suffer due to the heat. It has made my skin more redish and dull. I’ve lived for 2 years in Jakarta. That affects my skin a lot. Most of my friends and family tell that my skin look brighter. But whenever I come home my skin is gonna be redish and dull again. No wonder Surabayaneses have darker skin than The Jaks. Sometimes I wonder it influences the characteristic of Surabayaneses. High temperature means high temper?

2. Lack of credit card promo

During in Jakarta I often use credit cards, either mine or my friends’, for shopping. It doesn’t mean I’m a shopaholic. It’s a big no no to be shopaholic. I use credit cards in order to get benefit from promo such as buy one get one free, discount 50% in some restaurants, etc. Besides, I can get reward points. Who knows I can win grand prizes such as cars😉 Unfortunately that kinda promo in Surabaya is less than in Jakarta.

3. Boyfriend stuffs questions

Last but not least, I know people (even people that just meet me) will ask the same old boring questions: “So….where does your boyfriend come from?” or “You do have a boyfriend, don’t you?” or “Wina, you gotta have a future hubby” and stuffs like that. If I answer the truth, the questions evolve into the serious ones. Gee…zzzzzz why can’t they leave my privacy alone?!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2008 in happening, special occasion, thoughts

 

8 responses to “Three Things I Hate About Coming Home

  1. dnial

    September 30, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    So, what about your boyfriend?
    Just say, he is a handsome boy that have to study abroad for a while, things just fine though. And other lies😛
    Eniwey… I still don’t have credit card, though. And I don’t want one if not necessary.

     
  2. torret

    October 1, 2008 at 8:41 am

    well, actually, i prefer surabaya than jakarta. eventhough it’s hotter but i always feel more comfy and i can see the blue sky anywhere;) oia, i never had any heat-shock in surabaya^~^

     
  3. Dani

    October 1, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Yeah, u can see Surabayaneses have darker skin than The Jaks but maybe they have healthier lung than the Jaks :p

     
  4. tenzai

    October 1, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Wah, kalo aku jujur lebih senang di Surabaya daripada di Jakarta (Kalau saja bukan alasan karir dan kesempatan aku udah ga betah di Jakarta). Di Surabaya bisa kumpul keluarga, ga macet, main ama temen2 lama sampai wisata kuliner (menurutku masakan surabaya jauh lebih enak)

     
  5. Wina Dahlan

    October 2, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Dear all,
    Please take a look at the title once again! It’s all bout 3 things I hate in Surabaya. It doesn’t mean I don’t like living in Surabaya. It doesn’t mean I like living in Jakarta better than Surabaya.

     
  6. torret

    October 8, 2008 at 10:38 am

    lho, kok malah ngamuk??

     
  7. Wina Dahlan

    October 8, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    @Torret: Aku ga marah. Lha kamu kok bisa nyimpulin gitu?

     
  8. OutOfTheMind

    October 10, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Emang gitu kali yah… semua orang yang punya 2 kota Sby dan Jkt, selalu bilang Sby jauh lebih panas, yup kena kenjeran juga kan🙂

    ga perlu marah kalo ditanyain masalah future hubby. gue juga gt kok. dulu juga sewot, lama2 biasa ajah. karena itu sebenarnya cara mereka cari bhn obrolan yang dianggep nyaman. dan salah satu bentuk kalo mereka care ke kita, diabwa enaknya ajah ya..🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
